2024 Steering Committee


 2024 Peace Action of WI Steering Committee:

Chris Breihan- Co-chair

Samir Moukaddam Co-chair

Bruce Ware- Secretary

Tom Seery- Treasurer


Tom Seery- I was the program organizer for Peace Action from 1996 to 2002. Currently I am the Co-chair of the Peace Action Steering Committee. I am now involved in environmental issues and the link to militarism. 

Chris Breihan- I am a long-time activist in the anti-war, social justice, women’s rights, and labor movements. I served on the executive boards of both my UAW and AFT union locals. After one year on the Peace Action Steering Committee, I am ready to take what I have learned and commit to another year of working to stop US militarism, interventionism, nuclear proliferation for either weapons or energy, and the social injustice that goes with them.

Harry Targ- Harry Targ is a retired Professor of Political Science, Purdue University, who resides in Milwaukee part of each year. He is a longtime peace and labor activist and is currently co-Chair of a democratic socialist organization, Committee of Correspondence for Democracy and Socialism. While at Purdue University he was coordinator of the Committee on Peace Studies. He blogs at www.heartlandradical.blogspot.com  He writes on United States foreign policy, international relations, and labor and class in the United States.

Bruce Ware-  Retired attorney for Children’s Court serving the interests of young children. Longtime activist with Jobs for Peace and Peace Action WI. Formerly served on Peace Action’s Steering Committee for several years.

Ann Batiza- Retired academic, concerned citizen. Ph.D. in cellular and molecular biology, peace activist, League of Women Voters, and lead organizer in the Julian Assange Defense Milwaukee

Babette Grunow- Peace Action WI member for many years, and faithful Stand for Peace attendee. She has co-hosted a program on Riverwest Radio, The Grass is Greener, which has guests speaking on peace and jusice topics.

James Morrell- Council of Federated Organizations/Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Indianola, Mississippi voters’ registration, 1965, Contra Costa County peace coalition, Martinez, Calif., anti-napalm campaign outside of navy base at Port Chicago, Co-organizer of Committee of Concerned Asian Scholars, Harvard University, 1967-70, Co-organizer of Conference for Scholarly Integrity, Southern Illinois University, 1970, against involvement in Vietnam war. Research associate, Indochina Resource Center, Washington, D.C. 1974-75, Co-founder and research director, Center for International Policy, Washington, D.C. 1975-2002, Founder and executive director, Haiti Democracy Project, Washington, D.C., 2002 – to present.

Samir Moukaddam-Long time organizer for peace. Worked with American Friends Service Committee. Peace Action WI member for decades.

Jim Carpenter- Longtime Peace Action member, Conscientious Objector, against all wars and forms of violence. Chair of the End Wars Committee of the Progressive Democrats of America.


2023 Peace Action of WI Steering Committee:

Tom Seery- Co-chair

Mary Laan- Co-chair

Bruce Ware- Secretary

Chris Breihan- Treasurer


Ann Batiza-

Bruce Brown-
Laura Kukor Shea-
Babette Grunow- 
Harry Targ
Office Manager- Pam Richard- Office Hours are 10AM to 3PM, Mon- Thurs.

Candidates for 2024
James Morrell
Proficiency in French and Russian. Some Chinese, German, Latin, and Spanish. Research associate, Indochina Resource Center, Washington, D.C. 1974-75
Co-founder and research director, Center for International Policy, Washington, D.C. 1975-2002
Founder and executive director, Haiti Democracy Project, Washington, D.C., 2002 - to
present. Our work is presented at https://haitipolicy.org. In 2018 we launched the women candidates’
project. We observed nine elections during 2006-2016. We brought some twenty-five delegations of
Haitians to meet with members of Congress and the State Department